Things I Like (articles and recipes)

February 18, 2012

Hello again!  I haven’t written anything in a while.  The main reason?  I haven’t been making new recipes lately.  For budgetary reasons, I’ve been working through other people’s recipes and doing fewer of my own experiments.  But, itching to write, I’ve opted to do a link love entry to showcase some of the fabulous recipes and health-related articles I’ve been enjoying.  Without further ado, here’s what makes the cut:

Recipes:

Chef Chris Miller’s ‘Kale Diaries’: want to know a lot of ways to fix kale?  Check out Chef Chris Miller’s blog, with a bunch of recipes (not all of them paleo, but most are easily adapted).

The Greens Cookbook: I can’t endorse this book enough.  Like the Kale Diaries, not all of the recipes are paleo-approved (skip the sections on pasta and bread), but it’s worth owning for the salads and innovative dessert ideas (orange-maple mousse, chopped fruit with cheese and honey, etc.).  The recipe for eggplant-garlic puree is particularly enticing.

Watercress and Endive Salad: the closest thing I could find to the Watercress-Endive-Walnut Salad from the Greens Cookbook mentioned above.  This is similar, but I’m telling you, get that cookbook and get started.  The recipes are mostly simple, and all delicious.  Round out your paleo diet with some serious vegetable action.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Scallops: I made these for Valentine’s dinner with my girlfriend.  Suffice to say, they get a good reaction: it’s one of those great recipes that sounds impressive, looks impressive, and most importantly, tastes impressive, but is, in fact, incredibly easy to make.  And, apparently, it makes for a good date.  Make it and share it with someone you love.

Curried Beets!  I know I’ve featured this recipe before, but it is, in fact, just that good.  One of the better recipes I’ve found in the last year.

Brown Butter Kale: Make this and then squeeze a lemon over it.  And get a napkin, because you’ll be drooling all over the place.

Bagna Calda from the Stinking Rose: This is one I picked up at a new year’s party, and it is perhaps the ultimate primal sauce/appetizer.    It’s got olive oil (good fats), butter (use pastured Kerrygold Irish butter for extra-healthy fats), garlic (sulfurous veggies are good for you!), and anchovies (packed with those anti0-inflammatory omega-3s!).  I dip sliced up bell peppers in it or pour it over poached eggs.  For real.  It is so healthy.  It is so delicious.  For best results, make it and enjoy it on a weekend, since you’ll smell like garlic for a day or two after.

Naturally sweetened flourless torte: Because sometimes, you want to bake even though you’re paleo. This is a great recipe, and totally flexible.  And as for being paleo?  It’s not an everyday thing, certainly, but each slice has only about 1/2 Tbsp of maple syrup, and plenty of fat and protein.  Not bad, for a dessert.  For bonus points, top it with some of the Orange-Maple Mousse from the Greens Cookbook.

Other Links:

Evolution of Multicellular Life – Synthesized in a Lab: For anyone who doubts that evolution is a thing, scientists have evolved multi-cellular life from unicellular life.  BAM.

FDA acknowledges the danger of antibiotics in livestock, but doesn’t want to do anything about it: This one explains itself.

Chemotherapy? Try fasting: A recent study shows that chemotherapy is enhanced by IF.

Why you should eat more sulfur: Make bagna calda more appealing (is that even possible?) by knowing how and why it’s so good for you.

RICE is out, METH is in: Turns out that promoting blood (and nutrient) flow to an injury heals it faster than decreasing blood flow.  Who’d have thunk it?  I’m glad to see confirmation of something I’ve suspected since I first heard about icing an injury.

Terry Wahls treats her MS without meds: Watch her go from wheelchair-bound with aggressive MS to confidently walking and talking (MS in remission) using nothing but diet.

Peel garlic with the quickness: Because bagna calda takes a lot of peeled garlic, and you’re busy with real life.  I love a good cooking hack.

2 Responses to “Things I Like (articles and recipes)”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Regarding RICE vs. METH – I recently donated platelets at the Red Cross and had a nasty reaction to it. They recommend RICE for the first 24 hours, and METH after. I’ll be recommending this to my roommate, Kathy, who rolled her ankle yesterday and has been icing on-and-off since.


    • It’s an interesting article. I’m really glad someone wrote about it, because it’s an issue that’s been bugging me since I first learned about how tissue repair works, and I’ve been having good luck with ignoring the RICE thing and going right into gentle movement with heat.

Leave a Reply

