Travel, Growth, and the New Year

January 7, 2012

“A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent on arriving.” -Lao Tzu

“The whole goal of travel is not to set foot on foreign land; it is at last to set foot on one’s own country as a foreign land.” -G.K. Chesterton

Hello, blogosphere!  It’s been a while.  I apologize.  I didn’t mean to do you wrong.  The fact is, I got caught up in some pretty important things.  Allow me to elaborate, and then we can hug it out, shake hands, or kiss and make up, your choice.

So, where have I been lately?  I graduated from college!  So I was pretty busy with all that.  I had a graduation party with awesome food (see my last post), and then I spent two full weeks traveling for holiday celebrations with friends and family.  One week in Alabama (Christmas) and one week in Minnesota (New Year).  But now I’m back (with a brand new invention! Ok, no invention, but there are good things in the works).  Essentially, I’ve been having a very good time and doing some introspection and trying to figure out what to do now that I’m a graduate.

I finally have some answers to those questions.  This year is going to be a big one for me, and hopefully, for this blog as well.  I’ll be moving back to Minnesota some time in May.  There’s a job waiting for me there that will finance my cooking habit (which should benefit you all!) and I’ll have access to a better kitchen than I currently do (again, good things for the blog).

The most exciting news, though, is that I will be spending the entire month of April in Europe.  I will arrive in Florence on the 2nd, and will fly back from Madrid on the 29th.  I plan to take extensive notes and pictures, and return with oodles of blog-worthy content from my travels.  I’ll be doing my best to eat well (and paleo) on the road, and tell you all about it.  So we all win!  I get a life-changing trip, and the blog readers get interesting posts.  If at all possible, I’ll be stopping at the world’s first paleo restaurant in Berlin.  Sound good?  Good.  If you have any advice on inexpensive ground travel (bicycle, train, anything) in Europe, ways to find cheap places to sleep (couches, even), I’d love to hear about them.

New year’s resolutions: I’ll be tackling the complete works of Earnest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald, as well those of Gertrude Stein if I have time.  I had also promised myself that this year I would take a trip abroad.  So, with my tickets booked, I can cross that one off the list.

What are your new year’s resolutions?  Studies have shown that making your resolutions public make you more likely to follow through with them, so leave a comment below.

A final note: I do this blog as a labor of love: I love food, I love paleo, I love writing.  It’s always been that simple.  If you’re a regular reader, I thank you.  That’s all I ever wanted.  This is a big trip, though, that will incur considerable costs.  If you feel that my blog is valuable, useful, or adds enjoyment to your life, I will gladly accept whatever support you might want to offer – supportive comments (leave them here!) or, if you feel so inclined, I will happily and gratefully accept Paypal donations.  Simply comment on this post and I will send you an e-mail regarding Paypal.

I would like to sincerely thank you all for reading.  Getting to write about my favorite things (and having the gratification of a regular readership) is a true honor.  Thank you so much for your time, support, and comments.  I look forward to sharing another year with all of you.

-Ware

Leave a Reply

