Sweet Potato Porridge

September 2, 2011

Since starting my new job at the restaurant a few months ago, I’d been feeling a lot of fatigue, and couldn’t figure out why.  Through some self-experimentation I’ve realized that I spend so much time on my feet (at work), walking, or exercising that the super-low carb approach to Primal living was no longer cutting it for me.  Basically, I’d drained my stored carbohydrates and glycogen, and was limping along with a deficit of carbohydrates and not able to make up the difference by excess protein (which gets turned into carbohydrates).  So, I’ve started working sweet potatoes into my diet on a regular basis, to add some Primal-friendly, nutrient dense starch into the mix, particularly on workout days.  With fall approaching, I wanted to create a recipe that would satisfy my desire for warm comfort food, and sweet potatoes are a great place to start.  Here’s a really satisfying Primal recipe that will be great as either a once-in-a-while thing, or as a starchy workout meal.  For those struggling to make the switch to a Primal lifestyle, this makes a great replacement for oatmeal and can really ease that transition.

Ingredients

1/2 – 3/4 cup minced or shredded sweet potato

1 egg

1 scoop vanilla or plain protein powder (I use Bluebonnet vanilla whey isolate, but any kind – or even almond flour – will do)

1/4 cup nuts (walnuts, almonds, or hazelnuts are my favorites)

1/3 cup coconut milk

pinch of salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp nutmeg

dash of allspice

1/2 tsp vanilla (or whole tsp if using plain protein powder)

2 Tbsp butter

Method

Combine everything but the butter in a food processor until it is well blended but not quite smooth.  It should have little lumps like a pancake batter.

The batter should still be a little runny, and with an oatmeal-like lumpiness.

Heat the butter in a skillet until it bubbles, then add the batter, stirring constantly to prevent sticking, until the butter is absorbed and the batter has thickened, but not cooked dry like a pancake.

Pour into a bowl, garnish with nuts or whipped cream, and enjoy with coffee.

3 Responses to “Sweet Potato Porridge”

  1. samantha Says:

    just the ingredients makes me want to try it!!!!!!!!!!!


  2. Thanks, Samantha! Let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

