Sirloin Steak with Garlic, Wine, and Mushrooms

May 11, 2011

I’m back this week with another recipe and this one’s a real winner, in my opinion.  I won’t say that it’s a groundbreaking combination of flavors (it’s pretty common, actually), but it is adapted and colored by one of the most haunting memories of my life:

When I was about 16, I had the good fortune to travel to Italy.  I went to the Vatican, saw the pope live and in person (JP2), a pretty cool event despite my definite non-Catholicism.  After JP2 was finished speaking to the crowd, I left the piazza and stumbled across a small cafe just outside the Vatican’s borders.  There, I ordered a steak.  It was simple, lightly seasoned with garlic and red wine, served rare, and, to this day, one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten.  Here is my take on a garlic-wine steak.  This dish also comes with the added bonus that it requires only one pan and one plate, so dishes and cleanup are minimal.  Without further ado:

Time Commitment: 15 minutes

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

olive oil

2+1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp oregano, dried

1 tsp, fresh-ground salt and pepper, plus more to taste

1 cup chopped mushrooms (I used some big, locally grown, cremini mushrooms)

1/2 cup dry red wine (I used chianti)

1 lb. steak (I used sirloin)

Method:

Remove the steak from the fridge, rub it on each side with 1 tsp of garlic powder and grind enough salt and pepper over each side to provide a good crust.  Let it sit out to come to room temperature while you do the next steps.

In a large, heavy skillet, heat 2-3 tablespoons olive oil over medium heat.  Sautee the chopped mushrooms with 1 tsp each of salt, pepper, and garlic, plus both teaspoons of the oregano.  When the mushrooms started to soften, pour in the chianti and continue to sautee until the mushrooms turn purple (about 1-2 minutes).

Once the mushrooms are starting to purple, add the steak and sear it about 3 minutes on each side, until the wine is mostly reduced and the liquid is thick.  Serve the steak and mushrooms with the thick sauce over them.  Goes well with a salad of steamed Italian vegetables (broccoli, zucchini, and bell pepper, e.g.) in balsamic vinaigrette.  Enjoy and think of Rome.

Leave a Reply

